$12.00 USD

Founded in 2012 as an extension of the journal’s commitment to supporting the voices of young writers, the Adroit Prizes are awarded annually to two students of high school, college, or university status.

The 2019 Adroit Prize for Poetry will be selected by Franny Choi, author of Floating, Brilliant, Gone (Write Bloody Press, 2014) and author of Soft Science (forthcoming from Alice James Books). The 2019 Adroit Prize for Prose will be selected by Jamel Brinkley, author of A Lucky Man (Graywolf Press, 2018).

Students previously recognized by the Adroit Prizes include Aidan Forster, Christina Im, Yasmin Belkhyr, Rainie Oet, Lucy Wainger, Alexa Derman, and many more writers on the rise. Winners of each prize will be awarded $200, and their work—along with the work of runners-up—will be featured in The Adroit Journal. Runners-up and finalists will receive copies of the judges' latest books.

To accommodate this while offering free online issues, we have set a non-refundable submission fee of $12. If you require financial assistance, you may submit a fee waiver by downloading this form and following the instructions. Due to fee waivers' processing time, fee waivers will only be accepted until April 28th (postmarked). Paid submission will remain open until April 30th.

All current secondary and undergraduate students, including international students and students who graduated in December 2017, are eligible for the Adroit Prizes. Entries may include up to six poems and up to three works of creative prose. Simultaneous submissions and excerpts of longer works are acceptable, as are works that have been previously recognized by other organizations or featured in campus-wide publications. Each entrant may send a maximum of one entry per genre per year, but may submit both poetry and prose.

Please direct any additional questions to editors@theadroitjournal.org.

Submissions may be made via the below form, and will be open until April 30, 2018 @ 11:59 pm PST.
Please submit all poems in one document! Please do not submit prose in the same document as poetry. You may submit prose through the "2019 Adroit Prize for Prose" category. Click here to submit to the Adroit Prize for Prose.

FRANNY CHOI is a writer, performer, and educator. She is the author of Floating, Brilliant, Gone (Write Bloody, 2014) and the chapbook Death by Sex Machine (Sibling Rivalry Press, 2017). She has been a finalist for multiple national poetry slams, and her poems have appeared in Poetry Magazine, American Poetry Review, the New England Review, and elsewhere. She is a Kundiman Fellow, Senior News Editor for Hyphen,  co-host of the podcast VS, and member of the Dark Noise Collective. Her second collection, Soft Science, is forthcoming from Alice James Books.   

JAMEL BRINKLEY is the author of A Lucky Man: Stories (Graywolf Press), a finalist for the National Book Award in Fiction, the John Leonard Prize, the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, and the Story Prize, and winner of the Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence. His writing has appeared in The Best American Short Stories 2018Ploughshares, Gulf Coast, The Threepenny Review, Glimmer Train, American Short Fiction, and Tin House, among other placesHe has received support from Kimbilio Fiction, the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop, the Napa Valley Writers’ Conference, the Tin House Summer Workshop, and the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he was also a Carol Houck Smith Fiction Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. He is currently a Wallace Stegner Fellow in Fiction at Stanford University. 

Previous judges include: 

2018 - Alex Dimitrov
2017 - Safiya Sinclair
2016 - Corey Van Landingham
2015 - Tarfia Faizullah
2014 - Richie Hofmann
2013 - Garth Greenwell
2012 - Chloë Honum