$12.00 USD

Founded in 2012 as an extension of the journal’s commitment to supporting the voices of young writers, the Adroit Prizes are awarded annually to two students of high school, college, or university status.

The 2020 Adroit Prize for Poetry will be selected by Jericho Brown, author of The Tradition (Copper Canyon Press, 2019), a finalist for the 2019 National Book Award, and The New Testament (Copper Canyon Press, 2014). The 2020 Adroit Prize for Prose will be selected by Kristen Arnett, author of Mostly Dead Things (Tin House Books, 2019).

Students previously recognized by the Adroit Prizes include Aidan Forster, Christina Im, Yasmin Belkhyr, Rainie Oet, Lucy Wainger, Alexa Derman, and many more writers on the rise. Winners of each prize will be awarded $200, and their work—along with the work of runners-up—will be featured in The Adroit Journal. Runners-up and finalists will receive copies of the judges' latest books.

To accommodate this while offering free online issues, we have set a non-refundable submission fee of $12. If you require financial assistance, you may submit a fee waiver by downloading this form and following the instructions. Due to fee waivers' processing time, fee waivers will only be accepted until April 28th (postmarked). Paid submission will remain open until April 30th.

All current secondary and undergraduate students, including international students and students who graduated in December 2019, are eligible for the Adroit Prizes. Entries may include up to six poems and up to three works of creative prose. Simultaneous submissions and excerpts of longer works are acceptable, as are works that have been previously recognized by other organizations or featured in campus-wide publications. Each entrant may send a maximum of one entry per genre per year, but may submit both poetry and prose.

Please direct any additional questions to editors@theadroitjournal.org.

Submissions may be made via the below form, and will be open until April 30, 2020 @ 11:59 pm PST.
Please submit all poems in one document! Please do not submit prose in the same document as poetry. You may submit prose through the "2020 Adroit Prize for Prose" category. Click here to submit to the Adroit Prize for Prose.

JERICHO BROWN is the recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award and fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Brown’s first book, Please (2008), won the American Book Award. His second book, The New Testament (2014), won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and was named one of the best of the year by Library Journal, Coldfront, and the Academy of American Poets. He is also the author of the collection The Tradition (2019), which was a finalist for the 2019 National Book Award. His poems have appeared in Buzzfeed, The Nation, The New York Times, The New Yorker, The New Republic, Time, and The Pushcart Prize Anthology, and several volumes of The Best American Poetry anthologies. He is an associate professor and the director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory University in Atlanta.

KRISTEN ARNETT is the NYT-bestselling author of the debut novel Mostly Dead Things (Tin House, '19). She is a queer fiction and essay writer. She was awarded Ninth Letter's Literary Award in Fiction and is a columnist for Literary Hub. Her work has appeared at The New York TimesNorth American ReviewThe Normal School, Gulf Coast, TriQuarterly, Guernica, Buzzfeed, Electric Literature, McSweeneys, PBS Newshour, Bennington Review, The Guardian, Salon, The Rumpus, and elsewhere. Her story collection, Felt in the Jaw, was published by Split Lip Press and was awarded the 2017 Coil Book Award. She is a Spring 2020 Shearing Fellow at Black Mountain Institute. You can find her on Twitter @Kristen_Arnett.

Previous poetry judges include: 

2019 - Franny Choi

2018 - Alex Dimitrov

2017 - Safiya Sinclair

2016 - Corey Van Landingham 

2015 - Tarfia Faizullah 

2014 - Richie Hofmann 

2013 - Garth Greenwell 

2012 - Chloë Honum 

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.