Ends on February 15, 2017

$12.00 USD

We are pleased to announce that the 2017 Adroit Prize for Poetry will be selected by Safiya Sinclair, and that the 2017 Adroit Prize for Prose will be selected by Allegra Hyde.

The Adroit Prizes are awarded annually to two students of secondary or undergraduate status whose written work inspires the masses to believe beyond feeling the work. In other words, we strive to receive the absolute best work from emerging young writers in high school and college, and the best of the best will receive these two lovely awards.

All secondary and undergraduate students are eligible, including international students and students who have graduated a semester early (in this case, in December 2016). Submissions may include up to six poems (maximum of ten pages single-spaced) and/or up to three works of prose (combined word limit of 3,500 words). Excerpts are acceptable.

Submissions will be accepted exclusively via our online submission manager until February 15, 2017 @ 11:59 pm EST. Simultaneous submissions—as well as submissions that have been recognized by other organizations and/or featured in campus-wide publications—are accepted, provided that simultaneously submitted work is acknowledged as such in the cover letter portion of the submission. Submitters should reach out promptly via email (editors@theadroitjournal.org) if work under consideration is accepted elsewhere.

All submissions will be considered for publication in The Adroit Journal. Each submitter may not send more than one submission per genre, but may send both poetry and prose.

Winners will each receive $200, and their work—along with the work of runners-up—will be featured in The Adroit Journal. Winners, runners-up, and up to eight finalists will receive copies of the judges' latest books. 

To accommodate this while offering free online issues, we have set a non-refundable submission fee of $12. If you require financial assistance, you may request a fee waiver by emailing editors@theadroitjournal.org with the subject "Fee Waiver Request." 

Please direct any additional questions to editors@theadroitjournal.org. 

Submissions may be made via our online submission manager, and will be open until February 15, 2017 @ 11:59 pm EST. 

Please submit multiple works of prose in one document! If you also plan to submit to the poetry prize, please do that separately, through the "2017 Adroit Prize for Poetry" category. Click here to submit to the Adroit Prize for Poetry.

We are pleased to announce that the 2017 Adroit Prize for Prose will be selected by Allegra Hyde.

Allegra Hyde is the author of Of This New World (University of Iowa Press, 2016), which won the John Simmons Short Fiction Award. Her stories and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in The Missouri Review, New England Review, Gettysburg Review, The Threepenny Review, and elsewhere. She is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize, as well as support from the Virginia G. Piper Center, the Jentel Artist Residency Program, The Island School, and the U.S. Fulbright Commission.

Previous judges include: 
2016 - Kevin Moffett 
2015 - Alexander Maksik 
2014 - Wendy Rawlings 
2013 - Marlin Barton 
2012 - Kirk Nesset 
Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.